Applying for a disabled person's bus pass

Who is eligible for a disabled person's bus pass?

The disabled person’s pass is for people of fare paying age (5 and over). Who live in England with a qualifying disability. The bus pass allows free off-peak travel on local buses throughout England.

Any disability should have a substantial effect on your ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities and must:

  • be permanent, or
  • have lasted at least 12 months, or
  • be likely to last at least 12 months, or
  • be likely to recur

A qualifying disability would be if you:

  • are blind or partially sighted (Category A)
  • are profoundly or severely deaf (Category B)
  • are without speech (Category C)
  • have a substantial walking disability (Category D)
  • don’t have arms or have long-term loss of the use of both arms (Category E)
  • have a learning disability, including a significant impairment of intelligence and social functioning (Category F)
  • were refused a driving licence or are unable to drive due to medical reasons (Category G)

Please note that mental health applications will be assessed under the final category G unable to drive.

Read each category and the guidance carefully before applying.

Bus pass - disabled person's bus pass image