County Council elections

County Council elections are held every four years.

County Council By-Election, Old Hastings and Tressell Division

The By-Election was held on Thursday 9 July 2015.

Notice of Poll

Statement of Persons Nominated – Old Hastings and Tressell

Appointment of Election Agents – Old Hastings and Tressell

Notice of Election – Old Hastings and Tressell

Notice of Vacancy – Old Hastings and Tressell

Pre-election period guidance

Guidance for elected Members and local authority staff on the pre-election period, sometimes referred to as ‘purdah’:

East Sussex Pre-election period – guidance for elected members and local authority staff

County Council elections – 2 May 2013

You can view the results of the 2013 elections here.

The Returning Officer for the County Council elections in May 2013 was Becky Shaw, Chief Executive of the County Council.

Find out more about:

Appointment of Election Agents

Eastbourne – Appointment of Election Agents

Hastings – Appointment of Election Agents

Lewes – Appointment of Election Agents

Rother – Appointment of Election Agents

Wealden – Appointment of Election Agents

Notice of election

Electoral boundaries

The number of voters represented by each county councillor should be roughly the same in every electoral division.

Because resident numbers change, electoral arrangements are regularly reviewed by The Boundary Committee for England to make sure voters are fairly represented.

East Sussex County Council, Local Government Act 2000 The Local Authorities (Referendums) (Petitions) (England) Regulations 2011

We are required by law to publish how many signatures of registered voters are required on a petition, which would require the council to hold a referendum on changing its model of governance. This figure is known as the verification number.

2009 Elections

At the County Council elections held on 4 June 2009, the Conservatives maintained control of East Sussex County Council.

A total of 49 councillors were elected. Figures in brackets show how many seats were held by each party before the election.

  • Conservative – 29 (29)
  • Labour – 4 (5)
  • Liberal Democrats – 13 (13)
  • Independent – 3 (2)

2005 Elections

At the previous full County Council elections in 2005, the Conservatives maintained control and increased their seats from 24 to 29.

A total of 49 councillors were elected, up from 44 due to boundary changes. Figures in brackets show how many seats were held by each party before the election.

  • Conservative – 29 (24)
  • Labour – 5 (6)
  • Liberal Democrats – 13 (14)
  • Independent – 1 (0)
  • Independent Democrat – 1 (0)